Fifty Mission Cap | Sports Blog

Not your Grandfather’s Sports Blog.

T.O to Buffalooooooo… yeah!!

leave a comment »

You know what is wierd? As soon as Dallas waived Terrell Owens, here was my thought bubble:

What would it take for T.O to come to Buffalo?

Why wouldn’t he come to Buffalo? Where else could he go? Oakland? New England? Euro League?

He might as well go to Buffalo.

I bet he’ll come to Buffalo.

Sure enough, as soon as I come home from the World Baseball Classic today, I see on my front page that Terrell Owens has signed with the Buffalo Bills! How much did it take? $6.5 million for one year. Although it’s only for one year, it may definitely bring the football buzz back to Buffalo.

I am not much of a football guy, but I really love watching the NFL. I don’t know as much as the average fantasy head, but I know enough to realize that this is a good signing for the Bills. Since there is no NFL here in Toronto, by default, I am a Buffalo Bills fan. I would rather watch no football at all then relegate to the CFL. Surprisingly, I have a lot of Bills gear and I often schedule my Sundays around watching the Bills. They have not been good since the 90’s, but it is fun to watch. Sometimes frustrating, but what team isn’t.This signing may force me to finally make the trip down across the border to take in an NFL experience.

What are the disadvantages to this deal? Plenty. Owens is coming to  “mid-market” team after being employed by powerhouse franchises Dallas and Philadelphia. This fact may force T.O to believe that this is now his team and he can do whatever he wants. And being the Buffalo Bills, they actually may allow T.O to be bigger than the team. Secondly, QB Trent Edwards is a smart player, but he may not have the arm strength that T.O demands.Thirdly, T.O is the type of guy who needs to be entertained. Buffalo isn’t exactly the place you go for a night on the town.

I guess you have to take the good with the bad. The enhanced air attac wil free up room for Marshawn Lynch, whenever he breaks out o jail. Buffalo will also get more national exposure. Does Buffalo have another game in Toronto this season? T.O to Canada? I’m there.

Written by Salami-Cheese

March 7, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Leave a Reply

